I was looking through the Daily Prompt and noticed this one. The prompt was:

A True Saint

In 300 years, if you were to be named the patron saint of X, what would you like X to be? Places, activities, objects — all are fair game.

I thought that this was interesting enough to give it some thought and try to figure out what would be the best answer for me.

We all think we are great at different things and are special people. We believe that everything we do is interesting and worthy of everyones attention, That we are the smartest and know what is always right and wrong while others just don’t understand or have no clue. Most people believe that their way is always the way to do things.

I’ve done many things in my lifetime. I’ve worked many jobs and wore many hats. From paperboy, deli clerk, cashier, manager, postal worker and writer. I’ve been a driver for a newspaper, washed dishes at a fancy french resturant and even worked at a farm.

I went through a period of time where I was a heavy drinker and caused much grief to my friends and family. Caused many problems for people I cared about because I didn’t care about myself.

I am now a husband and a father with two wonderful kids. I understand what needs to be done and do everything I can for my family as best I can. I try and provide for them and get them whatever they wish. I always do the right thing for them. I love my family with all my heart.

Growing up with the life I had, my mother always taught me, my brother and sister to do the right thing. To be kind and have manners and to be honest. To respect our elders. She did her best to make sure we grew up to be caring people.

So the question comes up: What would I be the Patron Saint of?

 My answer to that would have to be

DECENCY

That is what I would want people to remeber me as. A decent caring person who did the right thing.

Now adays i always do the right thing. I never lie, I help out anyone I can with whatever they need me to do. So to be labled as a Decent person is probably the best thing anyone could wish for.

