Tags

, , ,

When my protagonist Tony Gavel takes on a case, he never knows what’s going to happen. That’s because I have no idea what will happen to him.

When I’m writing a story, I write the last chapter. It’s easy for me because I write PI mysteries. Tony is usually talking to the client during the last chapter explaining the crime, who did it, why they did it, how they did it, etc…

Once the last chapter is finished, I start from the beginning and work the case as if I was Tony himself. I never know what Tony will stumble into, but it sure is fun watching him work his magic.

Since Tony is a PI, I follow a formula during his cases. Research, interviews, action, informants, conflict. I try to intertwine the elements to make for a good story. I like to keep the book balanced between the different actions that he could choose to take.

I have four last chapters of the series written. Now I just need Tony to solve the cases.

 

